County Information



County Government         




County Commissioners

The Pennsylvania County Code (1955 Act 130) governs most counties in the Commonwealth. In it, the County Code lists the officers of the county governed by the act (Article IV). Of particular note are the County Commissioners (Article V). Three county commissioners shall be elected in each county in the year one thousand nine hundred and fifty-five, and every fourth year thereafter (1955, 1959, ..., 2023, 2027, 2031, 2035). In the election of commissioners, each qualified elector shall vote for no more than two persons. The three persons having the highest number of votes shall be elected.

Adams County

The Board of Commissioners consists of three members and constitutes the chief governing body of the County. The Commissioners, together with their directors, manages the County organization with the mission of providing quality government service in an efficient cost-effective manner. The Commissioners are elected every four years and are responsible for setting policy for the fiscal management, and the administration of County affairs. The Commissioners serve on the Salary, Prison, Retirement, York-Adams Joinder for MHIDD and Election Boards as well as sitting as the Board of Assessment Appeals. They appoint members to participate on various boards and commissions affiliated with the County.





Chamber of Commerce


Adams County PA Legislators



Gettysburg Times—